Get Over Yourself!!!

20130228-203739.jpg

How many times I have heard that internal voice in my head yelling those words like an offbeat band drummer. Sometimes, I suppose, you have too especially when it comes to prayer. I have encounter numerous episodes where praying has become more of a literal (1) praise then…God I am here, I need you, I need you!!!!!!! Then off I go to the pouting for the un answered requests. I keep on overwhelming myself and God with the unfulfilled demands that blind my spiritual discernment. As I say them each is giving a nudge in heart that certainly I am doing something wrong. Not that I pay much attention. That is when my friend WHYYY? Comes along. He starts creating analogies in my brain through the prayer. Why this, why that, why not now, I hope you get my point. This brain storming then provokes the popping in the corner of my brain Mr. WHY MEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!! This one being more emphatic than the previous because of its idea of self-righteousness and admirable service to God. It makes us believe service guarantees ALL of God’s blessings and NO hardship. After that comes his pal WHEN! He does not have exaggerated continuation letters because it doesn’t whine; it just demands. Its demands are not based on the direction of the Word or the direction of the Holy Spirit. It emphasizes on the inconceivable notion inside of my brain that I know better than God. It brings a claim to God to do what He has promised when I want it to happen because that is how it should be. These three are just a few that come knock on the door in my brain with the prayer sign of “do not disturb” which they seem not to respect. They do not respect due to the ease of access I give them. Something bigger than my thoughts allows them in. It is selfishness inside my heart that allows their visit and stay. The saddest part of all is not the way I am praying, but that in this “praying” I am fighting and bickering towards God. I have forgotten others that really need prayer. Not only have I forgotten, but I have let my selfishness feed my unbelief instead of feeding my faith that God will help me through everything, will take care of everything in my life I have no control of, and knows everything that I need to supply it. More than that it has made me oblivion that God knows the EVERYTHING!

How many times has God reminded me that prayer is not about me. Yes, we need prayer and is our conversation with God. It is where we pour our hearts out to Him, but when prayer is just for you and never for others we lose the essence of prayer in our lives. I realized not long ago this. When I saw prayer as a given powerful gift to help those in need and not to get my demands fulfilled I came to appreciate not only the prayer most importantly the time in prayer with God. Not only does this realization made me understand the importance of getting over myself and what I want; but it has also brought me to realize the enormous and precious gift we receive when praying for others. This gift is simple God hears our prayers for others; attends their need and ours.

What I truly learned is that the greatest outcome is the selfishness is broken and stripped from our hearts. An unselfish character full of meekness begins to be transformed in us for God’s glory. Let us pray for others with more fervent passion than we would do for ourselves. There is so much to pray for. There are Missionaries, Pastors, teachers and so many loosing their life for Christ’s sake. I hope dearly we can realize the great importance that prayer has and that finally we could be able to get over ourselves. There is an urgent need to pray.

1 Thessalonians 5:17

…pray without ceasing

Matthew 5:44b

…pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you

Luke 18:1

Then He spoke a parable to them, that men always ought to pray and not lose heart

James 5:16

…pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much.

Hablemos de Esto

