No Money Can Buy

what-money-cant-buy-pic

Oh, the consumerism world! Where everything is geared to what we can acquire. The specific value of an item gives direction to the intensity of our desire for it. We have Amazon, EBay and so many sites where everything is so conveniently accessible with so much variety that it traps our senses for several hours without notice. If we look for something other ten show on the list distracting you from what initially took you there. Finally you reach the checkout point where you glance at your cart having twenty different items and none was what you initially needed. In the end you buy them and leave the site. A couple hours later you come back remembering that what you needed to buy in the first place you didn’t. Can you relate to this? I found myself doing this and shamelessly repeating more times than I should.
What makes us get so overwhelmed about possessions? There was a time in my life where possessions were the thermometer of my security. The more or better things I had the more secure I felt. There was emptiness in my life. Every time that feeling arose inside of me I would fill it with a new computer, a new outfit or anything that was pretty and made me feel good because of its monetary value. Oddly enough it was like my fulfillment sack had a leaking hole. As fast as I bought it the feeling of security would be leaking from me. There, in that moment, I would go back to the same cycle trying to find something else to satisfy. What was I missing? What did I need that no money could buy?

I was missing love. Not the love of a partner but the love that fills you and being filled with it you are able to feel love for those around you. The love that threw out all bitterness and selfishness from me. I was missing fulfillment. The fulfillment that could not be brought by a stable career, a fancy house, nice car or any material possession; it was the fulfillment of life. I am not talking about the life we are living but that deep sensation that we do not merely exist but we are actually living. I found that in Jesus Christ.

I have been living for thirty-three years and many out of those only existed. He filled that void, the emptiness that would leak at every try. He gave me life. A life in which my security no longer lies on what I can buy but on Him who paid the price for my sins. That is something that money would never buy and no rich man on Earth can place a price. This is the priceless gift given to us. It’s priceless because its value transcends from this Earth into an eternal life far greater than any possession that we would ever imagine.

On this day give priority to Him who makes you live and not just exist. The real security of life is not on the possessions or the financial security it only relies on the real valid security that is Jesus Christ as Savior of your life. 

One thought on “No Money Can Buy

  1. Pingback: Checkout the New Post!!!! | Ginosko Christ

Hablemos de Esto

